cropped-emprise-2.png

Chair holder: Professor Jacques Brisson, Université de Montréal

Mission

The objective of the Phytotechnology NSERC/Hydro-Québec Industrial Research Chair is to optimize phytotechnological approaches to solve environmental problems related to the operation of power grid infrastructures that generate, transport and distribute electricity. The research program of the Chair will concentrate on two issues for which phytotechnological approaches are tailor-made: i) the restoration of disturbed soil that leads to erosion and the establishment of undesirable plant species and ii) the remediation of soils or water contaminated with wood pole preservatives. The various research projects of the Chair will deepen our understanding of fundamental ecological principles, thereby facilitating the transfer and adaptation of phytotechnology to the numerous other contexts that could benefit from similar practices.

Learn more about phytotechnology, ongoing projects and our team.

News and announcements

July 2017 – Two experimental designs are now up and running at the IREQ site

SemencesLast June, professor Brisson’s team implemented two important experimental designs related to projects 1.1 and 1.2. These projects aim to prevent establishment of undesirable plants in powerline rights-of-way with herbaceous and shrub covers. Many thanks to the interns who helped during field work: Sabrina Demers-Thibault, Vanessa Laplante, Antoine Mathieu, Clément Robert-Bigras, Élisabeth Guillemette and Todor Minchev.

 

February 21 2017 – Best poster at the 2017 Forum Environnement for Chloé Frédette
Chloe_affiche
On February 9 2017, Chloé Frédette presented a poster of her masters project on a zero-effluent processing system using willows during the 2017 Forum Environnement. The annual forum, organised by students and professors of the Faculty of Arts & Sciences, aims to highlight research projects related to environmental concerns conducted at the Université de Montréal. Our warmest congratulations to Chloé who won the prize for best poster.

January 24 2017 – New Chair member
We are pleased to announce that Pr. Gérald J. Zagury is joining the Phytotechnology Research Chair. Pr. Zagury’s research interests are related to the speciation and fate of heavy metals in the environment and methods to reduce contamination in soils and water. Pr. Zagury will cosupervise Philippe Heine’s research project.

November 2 2016 – Welcome to Pierre-Luc Chagnon, new professor at the Université de Montréal

pierre-lucThe research Chair in phytotechnology enabled the hiring of Pierre-Luc Chagnon as an assistant professor in biological sciences at the Université de Montréal. Professor Chagnon’s research interests are focused on the role of microorganisms on 1) plant community assembly and 2) ecosystem functioning. One of the main objectives of his lab will be to use functional traits to predict the potential of mycorrhizal fungi in providing ecosystem services related to phytotechnology (e.g. soil stabilisation, phytyoextraction of heavy metals, degradation of organic contaminants). Professor Chagnon, who will take office in January 2017, will greatly broaden the research team of the Chair.

 

October 17 2016 – Inauguration of the Chair
The official inauguration of the research Chair took place at the Biodiversity Centre on October 17. For more information, please consult the Forum articles (in French) on the Chair itself and on the inauguration.

cropped-emprise-2.png

Titulaire : Professeur Jacques Brisson, Université de Montréal

Mission

La chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG / Hydro-Québec en phytotechnologie a été créée dans le but d’optimiser l’utilisation de la phytotechnologie aux problèmes environnementaux générés par la génération, le transport et la distribution d’électricité. Plus spécifiquement, deux problèmes environnementaux découlent de ce contexte : i) les sites des emprises hydroélectriques menacés par l’érosion et la colonisation par des espèces envahissantes et ii) la contamination du sol et de l’eau due à l’entreposage des poteaux électriques. Les projets de recherche permettront d’approfondir les connaissances scientifiques pour améliorer la gestion de la végétation située sous les emprises hydroélectriques et les sites d’entreposage en plus de faciliter le transfert et l’application de la phytotechnologie à d’autres contextes environnementaux.

Apprenez-en plus sur la phytotechnologie, les projets en cours et notre équipe.

Annonces et actualités

Juillet 2017 – Les dispositifs expérimentaux bien implantés au site de l’IREQ

SemencesAu début du mois de juin, l’équipe du professeur Jacques Brisson a mis en place deux importants dispositifs expérimentaux, soit les projets 1.1 et 1.2 qui visent à implanter un couvert herbacé et arbustif afin de prévenir les invasions biologiques sous les emprises hydroélectriques. Un grand merci aux stagiaires ayant participé aux activités de terrain : Sabrina Demers-Thibault, Vanessa Laplante, Antoine Mathieu, Clément Robert-Bigras, Élisabeth Guillemette et Todor Minchev.

 

21 février 2017 – Meilleure affiche au Forum Environnement 2017 pour Chloé Frédette
Chloe_affiche
Le 9 février dernier, Chloé Frédette a fait une présentation par affiche de son projet de système de traitement à effluent nul par lit de saules au Forum Environnement 2017. Cet événement, organisé annuellement par des étudiants et professeurs de la Faculté des arts et des sciences, a pour but de mettre en lumière les travaux de recherche et les initiatives en environnement à l’Université de Montréal. Félicitations à Chloé qui y a remporté le prix de la meilleure affiche.

24 janvier 2017 – Nouveau membre de la chaire
Il nous fait plaisir d’annoncer que le Professeur Gérald J. Zagury se joint à la Chaire de recherche en phytotechnologie. Les intérêts de recherche du Pr. Zagury touchent principalement à la spéciation et au devenir des métaux lourds dans l’environnement ainsi que leur traitement. Il cosupervisera le projet de maîtrise de Philippe Heine.

2 novembre 2016 – Bienvenue au nouveau professeur Pierre-Luc Chagnon

pierre-lucLa Chaire de recherche en phytotechnologie a rendu possible l’engagement de Pierre-Luc Chagnon à titre de professeur adjoint en sciences biologiques, à l’Université de Montréal. Les intérêts de recherche du professeur Chagnon sont centrés sur le rôle des microorganismes dans (1) l’assemblage des communautés végétales et (2) le fonctionnement des écosystèmes. Un des objectifs centraux de son laboratoire sera d’utiliser une approche par traits fonctionnels afin de mieux prédire le potentiel des champignons mycorhiziens à fournir certains services écosystémiques en phytotechnologie (ex. : stabilisation des agrégats du sol, phytoextraction de métaux lourds, accélération de la dégradation de polluants organiques). Le professeur Chagnon, qui entrera en fonction en janvier 2017, viendra grandement enrichir l’équipe de chercheurs membres de la Chaire.

17 octobre 2016 – Inauguration de la chaire
Le lancement officiel de la Chaire de recherche industrielle CRSNG / Hydro-Québec en phytotechnologie a eu lieu le 17 octobre dernier au Centre sur la biodiversité. Pour plus d’information, veuillez consultez les articles du journal Forum, de l’Université de Montréal, sur la chaire de recherche ainsi que sur l’inauguration de la chaire.